How to Set the options - Google Analytics Data Retention

Google Analytics Data Retention

The Google Analytics Data Retention controls give you the ability to set the amount of time before user-level and event-level data stored by Google Analytics is automatically deleted from Analytics’ servers.

These settings will not take effect until May 25, 2018. 
how-to-set-options-google-analytics-data-retention

User and event data retention 

The retention period applies to user-level and event-level data associated with cookies, user-identifiers (e.g., User-ID) and advertising identifiers (e.g., DoubleClick cookies, Android’s Advertising ID, Apple’s Identifier for Advertisers). 

Aggregated data is not affected. 

You can choose how long Analytics retains data before automatically deleting it: 
  • 14 months 
  • 26 months 
  • 38 months 
  • 50 months 
  • Do not automatically expire 
When data reaches the end of the retention period, it is deleted automatically on a monthly basis. 

If you change the retention period, then any affected data is deleted during the next monthly process. For example, if you change from 26 months to 14 months, then any data older than 14 months is deleted during the next monthly process. 

Whenever you modify the retention period, Analytics waits 24 hours before implementing the change. During this 24-hour period, you can revert your change and your data will be unaffected. 

Reset on new activity 

Turn this option ON to reset the retention period of the user identifier with each new event from that user (thus setting the expiration date to current time plus retention period). For example, if data retention is set to 14 months but a user initiates a new session every month, then that user's identifier is refreshed every month and never reaches the 14-month expiry. If the user doesn't initiate a new session before the retention period expires, then that user's data is deleted. 

If you do not want the retention period for a user identifier reset when that user has new activity, turn this option OFF. Data associated with the user identifier will be deleted automatically after the retention period. 

Set the options 

You need to have Edit permission for the property to set these options. 
  1. Sign in to Google Analytics.. 
  2. Click Admin, and navigate to the property you want to edit. 
  3. In the PROPERTY column, click Tracking Info > Data Retention. 
  4. User-data retention: select the retention period you want. 
  5. Reset on new activity: turn the switch on or off. 
Source: https://support.google.com

Comments